“Extravagance”

My good friend Ruhiyyih (Rose) got engaged last weekend. I’m posting this as a way of saying a huge CONGRATULATIONS but also, to share their story.

Matt & Rose

[Photo by Stephen Elliot]

“If Jesus can be extravagant with grace, then I can be extravagant with what I have to” the email read.

I stared at the computer screen, fighting tears. A blogging friend, someone I have never met but felt a strong kindred-spirit connection with, had just made the most outrageous offer I’d ever heard.

Read the rest of their engagement story over on Rose’s blog.

2 Responses to ““Extravagance””


  1. 1 Rose June 12, 2009 at 4:47 pm

    OH thanks for the shout out, Emma!! It is an exciting time. I am just over the moon with joy – but even more, amazed by God’s provision and grace. Matt and I were not even going to get an engagement ring because the cost was out of the question. I feel like the Lord wanted to bless our socks off!

    It is also an amazing lesson on selfless giving – a generosity that is so rare today. I am thinking of ways to honor this family, someday soon. God is good!

    Happy Friday, friend!

  2. 2 emmsy June 14, 2009 at 2:39 pm

    @ Rose: so great to hear your story. so excited for you & matt!


Comments are currently closed.



Quote

"Ultimately, movement is only as valuable as your commitment to stillness, and vice versa."

Pico Iyer

Ramblings by Topic

Past Ramblings


