Don’t Forget Us

Tonight I had my heart broken again.

Kiti Parents Pri School

I finally got to see the Invisible Children movie tonight. They’ve just launched their IC Europe efforts properly, and are doing a tour around the UK screening the movie in as many places as possible. (If you want to host a screening click here… Ami will help, she’s lovely!) Invisible Children are working in Northern Uganda trying to counter the effects of a drawn-out civil war.

I didn’t get a chance to go to Gulu when I was in Uganda this summer, but I did get to have dinner in Kampala with my friend Jess, who interned as the IC photographer all summer. We shared stories of our summers over some food and Stoney.

I miss Uganda.

There is this scene towards the end of the movie, where a young Uganda boy who has shared his story over the course of the movie, speaks to the guys, saying,

“Don’t forget us. Watch this video a month later, and remember us. Please don’t forget us.”

I threw myself back into this hectic UK lifestyle. A new job. Flitting between multiple cities. Working full time for the first time. Not being a student. Stress. Confusion.

Kiti Parents Pri School

Earlier this week I finally took all the video from my trip summer past off my camcorder and put it onto my hard drive. I watched back through the most of it, for the first time since I came back. The smiling kids. The devoted staff. The passionate teams.

Watch this, and remember us.

There are so many stories and sometimes I feel overwhelmed by them. I guess I feel a little compassion fatigue at the minute. All the stories from my summer in Uganda, Rwanda, Kenya. On Saturday I am heading to DR Congo for two weeks. More stories to tell.

Alpha & Omega Pri School

I’m not sure how much my heart can take.
It’s a good thing that it doesn’t just stay in my heart, but overflows to you all.

Source Of Light Pri School

“… Break my heart for what breaks yours // Everything I am for your kingdoms cause…”

2 Responses to “Don’t Forget Us”


  1. 1 suz October 23, 2008 at 8:28 pm

    mmmmmmhmmm. i know that feeling- i just watched a video jonny had made from romania as well as saw a huge slideshow of the photos… man, that along with pakistan photos.. i just keep being reminded. and i’m sorry i couldn’t make it y’day, i would have liked to see the film…

  2. 2 emmsy October 24, 2008 at 8:27 am

    @ suz: its a weird feeling, eh? i’m gonna put on a screening of the movie at some point, maybe december, so keep an eye out for that…


Comments are currently closed.



Quote

"Ultimately, movement is only as valuable as your commitment to stillness, and vice versa."

Pico Iyer

Ramblings by Topic

Past Ramblings


