Girl Meets God

“I cried, I think, because I was coming to understand in a new way just how much was required of me, how much God was going to strip away all my everything, like silver polish taking the tarnish off old forks. I cried because I know more and more how Chekov was right, how we are all running around desperate to make connections with one another, but mostly we are all just estranged. Because I know more and more that this glass here is so very dark, that this really is a long loneliness, that it is both lonely and long.

Sometimes I feel God has taken a paring knife to me. I know the way an apple feels.”

[Short extract from Girl Meets God by Lauren Winner.]

3 Responses to “Girl Meets God”


  1. 1 Rose February 20, 2008 at 2:34 pm

    That is an awesome excerpt. What writing!

  2. 2 suzysue February 20, 2008 at 4:08 pm

    i’m glad its inspiring you. i think its one of my favourite books about Jesus and people.
    enjoy your trip kiddo.

  3. 3 emmsy February 21, 2008 at 3:41 pm

    @ suz: cheers for lending it to me… i loved it! it was so easy to read and had such profound stuff in it at times. amazingness.


Comments are currently closed.



Quote

"Ultimately, movement is only as valuable as your commitment to stillness, and vice versa."

Pico Iyer

Ramblings by Topic

Past Ramblings


